On Haruki Murakami’s Dance, Dance, Dance

morningbathpost-murakami, gloc 9 rapper

I skipped merienda reading Murakami’s ‘Dance, Dance, Dance’ possibly a sequel to ‘a wild sheep chase’. And it is though he didn’t add number with the same title or the main character’s name; “No, of course not”, I thought to myself. Instead, he would name his books accordingly to what the story may be said is about. It’s the theme or more of the plot in big bold letters to catch attention. Now I’m eating butter bread as an appetizer before a large meal of fried chicken and chopseuy. Delicious.

Have any of you read or even have heard of Haruki Murakami? Well, I can say he writes brilliantly and is my favorite writer. I’m tempted to justify why I like him even though no one’s asking. And I do think of that a lot especially if someone comes up to me and asks why I like reading his works or why I do think he’s a great writer. So far, no one’s asking yet. But still it keeps bugging me. And as a writer myself I feel that somehow in a few years or so a professor critiquing my work would ask and I would be required to answer back in a most intellectual sense. Or to put it simply how to answer someone asking what the book is all about. I can go in great lengths to narrate what I just read or I could simply tell him what the whole book talks about, meaning what I thought the author intended. Somehow it all boils down on me that I do have to make a point of what I am saying. Please bear with me.

Well that’s enough introductions, I guess. Now I have to realign my thoughts about Murakami’s ‘Dance, Dance, Dance’. Observing the book’s cover art published under Vintage it had an all white background with the author’s name in bold ink, perhaps using the arial font. It has a half of its space for the illustration of a broken record piece as if torn apart and not cut in a straight line. Just above the illustration is the book’s title ‘Dance, Dance, Dance’ in red ink with the last ‘Dance’ word emphasized. This brings us to an earlier part of the book where the Sheepman tells the main character which I think was not even mentioned.  I’m not sure. But anyway, the sheepman tells him to keep on dancing no matter what happens. Pondering on this thought, I remember Gloc  9’s song about dancing. And it tells you to keep on dancing whatever life throws at you. It’s a catchy song, funny even and truth to his words. That’s why I like Gloc 9. So to put on simply, regardless of the plot the book tells you to live, no matter how pointless it may seem, just continue to live, live, live. As the Sheepman says, keep on dancing even if the record’s broken, just keep on dancing.

This is perhaps going to be a long essay about the book I just read. I always get those “hangovers”, the good kind, from the books that I’ve enjoyed reading. Usually they leave me spaced out and pondering on the words of wisdom that the book is filled with. Anyway, let’s move on to the next thing in mind. Murakami does make poetry out of what he writes. Now it’s really hard to explain especially what poetry is. All I can say is that I am a poet myself and understanding poetry is sort of similar to the experience I have reading Murakami’s works.

There’s this whole atmosphere that he writes about in the two books. There’s the larger part which is isolation. The character is isolated, not like a hermit or something, but more of a wallflower and somewhat…– But i’ll continue writing about it in another post.

Leave a Reply

